Lougheed House will be offering hour-long insider tours that will take you deep into the workings of our Victorian mansion.
Starting at 10 am, you will have the opportunity to explore and listen to the stories that made Lougheed House the historical landmark that it is today. We will also be sharing artifacts from our collection.
Guests will have the opportunity to visit our current summer exhibit, From Racialization to Peoplehood: Exploring Métis Identity, and will get the idea of how the Métis experience differs among the community, and the connection to Lougheed House being a Métis household.
Please note: the Lougheed House restaurant is closed, with a new concept opening in November.
Guided (1 hours) and self-guided tours available
Capacity for the guided tours are 20 people per tour – please sign up on-site.
Guided tour times: 10 am / 11 am / 12 noon / 1 pm / 2 pm / 3 pm
Parts of the tour are not wheelchair accessible. The main exhibit is wheelchair accessible.
The house is open to the public all day (10 am – 4 pm) for self guided tours.
Lougheed House is a sandstone mansion in the centre of downtown Calgary, surrounded by skyscrapers and the hustle and bustle of a big city. Back when it was built, the area could not have been more different. Lougheed House was built in 1891 by Senator James Alexander Lougheed and his wife Isabella Clarke Hardisty Lougheed in an area that was originally on the outskirts of Calgary. Christening their new home Beaulieu, French for ‘beautiful place’, they spent the next thirty years raising a family and becoming the centre of Calgary society, hosting royalty and dignitaries from all over Canada. They boasted the largest library in Calgary until the Central Memorial Library was built, and James was even knighted by George V in 1916. As a result, Isabella gained a title as well, as Lady Lougheed. After James’ death in 1925, the house was sold to the City of Calgary as payment for back taxes owed, but Isabella was allowed to stay in her home until her death in 1936. After she died, the house became a school for young women, an army barracks for the Canadian Women’s Auxiliary Corps, and then a blood donor clinic for the Red Cross. In 1995, the Lougheed House Conservation Society was formed to preserve it, and renovations for the House began in 2000. In 2005 we opened as a provincial and national historic site at the heart of Calgary, and have been flourishing ever since.
Year Built: 1891
Buit By: Senator James Alexander Lougheed and his wife Isabella Clarke Hardisty Lougheed
22 stalls. Street parking through out the neighbourhood.
Public Transit Route Info
90, 13, 3, 17, 7, 6, 2, 449, 112,